## 5.—Members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada According to Seniority Therein, as at Apr. 30, 1963—concluded

$f Member^1$	Date When Sworn In	Member <sup>1</sup>	Date When Sworn In	
Hon. Richard Albert Bell. Hon. Malcolm Wallace McCutcheon. Hon. Mark Robert Drouin. Hon. Roland Michener. Hon. Marcel Lambert. Hon. Théogène Ricard. Hon. Frank Charles McGee. Hon. Martial Asselin. Hon. Walter Lockhart Gordon <sup>2</sup> . Hon. Mitchell Sharp <sup>2</sup> Hon. Azellus Denis <sup>2</sup> . Hon. George James McIlraith <sup>2</sup> . Hon. William Moore Benidickson <sup>2</sup> . Hon. Arthur Laing <sup>2</sup> . Hon. Maurice Lamontagne <sup>2</sup> .	Aug. 9, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Feb. 12, 1963 Mar. 18, 1963 Mar. 18, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963	Hon. John Richard Garland <sup>2</sup>	Apr. 22, 1963 Apr. 22, 1963	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Members of Her Majesty's Privy Council for Canada take rank inter se according to the dates of their being sworn in.

<sup>2</sup> Ranks as a Member of the Cabinet.

<sup>3</sup> Ranks as the Prime Minister of Canada.

## 6.—Duration and Sessions of Parliaments, 1945-63

Note.—Similar information for the 1st to the 12th Parliaments, covering the period from Confederation to 1917, is given in the 1940 Year Book, p. 46; that for the 13th to 17th Parliaments in the 1945 edition, p. 53; and for the 18th and 19th Parliaments in the 1957-58 edition, p. 46.

Order of Parliament         Session         Date of Opening         Date of Prorogation         Days of Session         Sitting Days of House of Commons         Date of Parliament           20th Parliament         2nd Mar. 14, 1946         Aug. 31, 1946         171         118         June 11, 1945         Aug. 9, 1945           20th Parliament         2nd Jan. 30, 1947         July 17, 1947         115         115         Aug. 9, 1945         Aug. 17, 1949         209         119         Aug. 9, 1945         Aug. 9, 1945         Aug. 99, 1945 <th></th> <th></th> <th></th> <th></th> <th></th> <th></th> <th></th>							
20th Parliament   3rd   Jan. 30, 1947   July 17, 1947   169   115   4th   Jan. 30, 1947   July 17, 1947   169   115   4th   Jan. 26, 1949   Apr. 30, 1949   95   59   3 y., 8 m., 22 d.		Session				Days of House of	Writs Returnable,
21st Parliament   22nd Parli	20th Parliament	2nd 3rd 4th	Mar. 14, 1946 Jan. 30, 1947 Dec. 5, 1947	Aug. 31, 1946 July 17, 1947 June 30, 1948	171 169 209	118 115 119	Aug. 9, 19454 Apr. 30, 19495
22nd Parliament	21st Parliament	2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th	Feb. 16, 1950 Aug. 29, 1950 Jan. 30, 1951 Oct. 9, 1951 Feb. 28, 1952	June 30, 1950 Jan. 29, 1951 Oct. 9, 1951 Dec. 29, 1951 Nov. 20, 1952	135 154 253 82 267	90 17 105 56 87	Aug. 25, 19494 June 13, 19535
23rd Parliament	22nd Parliament	2nd 3rd 4th	Jan. 7, 1955 Jan. 10, 1956 Nov. 26, 1956	July 28, 1955 Aug. 14, 1956 Jan. 8, 1957	203 218 44 <sup>6</sup>	140 152 5	Oct. 8, 19534 Apr. 12, 1957 <sup>5</sup>
24th Parliament       2nd 3rd 4th 5th 5th 5th 5th       Jan. 15, 1959 Jan. 14, 1960 Nov. 17, 1960 Jan. 18, 1962 Apr. 19, 1963 Apr. 1963 Apr. 1963 Apr. 1963 Apr. 1963 Apr. 1963	23rd Parliament $\left\{\right.$	1st	Oct. 14, 1957	Feb. 1, 1958	111	78	Aug. 8, 19574 Feb. 1, 1958 <sup>5</sup>
25th Parliament   1st   Sept. 27, 1962   Feb. 5, 19638   132   72     July 18, 19624   Feb. 6, 19635   6 m., 20 d.     Apr. 8, 19633	24th Parliament $\left\{\right.$	2nd 3rd 4th	Jan. 15, 1959 Jan. 14, 1960 Nov. 17, 1960	July 18, 1959 Aug. 10, 1960 Sept. 28, 1961	185 210 316 <sup>7</sup>	127 146 174	Apr. 30, 19584 Apr. 19, 19625
26th Parliament {	25th Parliament $\left\{\right.$	1st	Sept. 27, 1962	Feb. 5, 1963 <sup>8</sup>	132	72	July 18, 19624 Feb. 6, 19635
1701 1' 1 11' 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1		1st	May 16, 1963				Apr. 8, 1963 <sup>3</sup> May 8, 1963 <sup>4</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The ordinary legal limit of duration for each Parliament is five years.

<sup>2</sup> Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive (B. N.A. Act, Sect. 50).

<sup>3</sup> Date of general election.

<sup>4</sup> Writs returnable.

<sup>5</sup> Dissolution of Parliament.

<sup>6</sup> Includes long adjournment from Nov. 29, 1956 to Jan. 8, 1957.

<sup>7</sup> Includes long adjournment from July 13 to Sept. 7, 1961.

<sup>8</sup> Government defeated in House of Commons on want of confidence motion.